Blue Paper – Two-Tiered Regionalism

  • All Australian state and territory governments to be abolished
  • All of Australia’s 565 local councils to be abolished
  • Australian government structure to become two tiered – a single national government presiding over about 50 county governments.
  • Each state government to make the transition to a unicameral parliament ‘County Government’ to replace the respective capital city council and take responsibility for a broad regional area encapsulating the entire metropolitan area in which they were formerly placed.  For example, Brisbane City Council to become Brisbane County and to extend its boundary to amalgamate the adjoining Federal Seats that encapsulate the Gold Coast, Ipswich and Caboolture.
  • Formation of approximately 50 new Counties to be established on the following bases:
    1. The current 150 Federal Electoral Divisions
    2. Australia’s 89 bio-regions
    3. Population distribution
    4. Indigenous nation boundaries
    5. A series of community-based forums and plebiscites to decide on final boundaries.
  • New National Electoral Counties to replace old Federal Electoral Divisions and to thence to be exactly aligned to the new Council boundaries
  • Each new County to be administered under the jurisdiction of a County Government
  • Chambers and offices of the previous councils to be utilised and adapted by the new County Governments.
  • Each county to have a unicameral parliamentary structure, with its members and mayor elected by the citizens of the country every 3 years.
  • Jurisdictions to pass to the national government:
    • Transport – rail, highways, major roads
    • Health, Hospitals, Mental Health and Aged Care
    • Education
    • Environmental Conservation and Heritage
    • The Arts
    • Police
    • Emergency services.
  • Jurisdictions to pass to the counties:
    • Land management
    • Housing development
    • Town planning
    • Family and Community Services
    • Indigenous affairs managed by a single local indigenous council for each county
    • Commerce and Trade development
    • Water and Sewage
    • Waste Management
    • Parks and Gardens
    • Footpaths and Local Streets
    • Energy self-sufficiency (jointly with the national government)